Midsummer

21 Jun

Tomorrow is the Mid Summer eve in Finland. The Mid Summer  eve or ‘juhannus’ (in Finnish) used to be on the longest day of the year in Finland, but was changed to the nearest weekend at some point.

Finns traditionally travel to the country side to enjoy the nature and the ‘nightless night’ as the northern you go the shorter the night gets and after the arctic circle in Lapland, the sun doesn’t set at all.

I’ve been enjoying the long evenings this week as it’s still totally light at 11 pm. The nature is most beautiful at the moment and I’ve attached here few pics from the other day as we walked around the local lake.

Traditionally mid summer lights (massive fires) are lit near the lakes. I remember from my childhood that it was the chance to get bigger rubbish burnt from the summer cottages, I once saw an outhouse being shipped on a rowing boat to an island in the middle of the lake, where the fire was to take place!

This year, the Finnish broadcaster YLE will be showing a ‘juhannus juna’ (Mid summer train) travelling across Finland from Helsinki (the capital in south) to Rovaniemi (north) during the nightless night. This live program can also been seen on the Arte channel at least in Germany and France, and on the internet too (Yle Teema).

There will be program on the train and all the passangers have been selected from thousands of volunteers and have some reason to be on the train. There is also program at the stops throughout Finland as the local towns try to show their best in those few minutes the train stops at their stations. If this Friday is just a normal Friday in your country, try to take a look at this program as it’s trying to give everyone a taster of the nightless Summer night in Finland.

PS. There are more of my Summer photos of Finnish nature on Oaxacaborn blog!

4 Responses to “Midsummer”

  1. Gina @ Oaxacaborn June 21, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    What beautiful photos! I especially love the birch (?) trees in the first photo and the lacy flowers in the third photo.

    hink I have said this before, but Upper Michigan (where my Finnish great grandparents settled) looks so very much like these photos of Finland. When I was a young girl, I remember a Finnish television show playing on TV in the background. It was a locally-produced program named “Finnish Calling”, and it was entirely in the Finnish language. I recall seeing video footage of the fires near the lakes, and knowing it was part of the Mid Summer celebrations. Later, when I attended college in Norther Michigan, the entire community where I lived celebrated Scandinavian Mid Summer each year!

    Thank you for linking to my blog as well!

    xo

    • nordicmum June 21, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      Glad you like the photos, as I’ve really taken them on the go 🙂
      There are lots of those lazy flowers (cow parsley?) at the moment, I’m really liking them this year too, although they’ve always been there and are a very common wild flower in Finland.
      The fires are really the main thing of the mid summer! I also forgot to mention about the mid summer poles, a tradition that comes from Sweden.
      xx

  2. Angel June 23, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Hi, my name is Angel. I really like your posts, and I think the pictures are lovely! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    • nordicmum June 23, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

      Hi Angel, thanks for stopping by! Glad you like the pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

